Endre Horváth, Formation mechanism of photovoltaic perovskite nanowires

Endre Horváth1, Massimo Spina1, Bálint Náfrádi1, Eric Bonvin1, Andrzej Sienkievicz1, Zsolt Szekrényes2, Hajnalka Tóháti2, Katalin Kamarás2, Richard Gaal3, László Forró1

1EPFL SB IPHYS LPMC, station 3, 1015, Lausanne, Switzerland
2Wigner Research Centre for Physics, 1525, Budapest, Hungary
3EPFL SB IPHYS EPSL, station 3, 1015, Lausanne, Switzerland

Photovoltaic perovskite (CH3NH3PbI3) nanowires in association with carbon nanostructures (carbon nanotubes and graphene) make outstanding composites with rapid and strong photoresponse. They can serve as conducting electrodes, or as central components of detectors. Performance of several miniature photo-field effect transistor devices based on these composite structures will be demonstrated.

Then our latest findings on the guided growth of perovskite nanowires by ‘solvatomorph-graphoepitaxy’ will be presented. This method turned out to be a fairly simple approach to overcome the spatially random surface nucleation. The process allows the synthesis of extremely long (centimeters) and thin (a few nanometers) nanowires with a morphology defined by the shape of nanostructured open fluidic channels. A common mechanism underlying of hybrid perovskite nanowire formation will be discussed in detail.

The ‘solvatomorph-graphoepitaxy’ could open up an entirely new spectrum of architectural designs of organometal-halide-perovskite-based heterojunctions -and tandem solar cells, LEDs, photodetectors and new type of magneto-optical data storage devices.


[1] Horváth et al. Nano Letters, 2014, 14 (12), 6761–6766, https://doi.org/10.1021/nl5020684

[2] Spina et al. Nanoscale, 2016, 8, 4888, https://doi.org/10.1039/C5NR06727H

[3] Spina et al. Small, 2015, 11, 4824-4828, https://doi.org/10.1002/smll.20150125

[4] Spina et al. Scientific Reports, 2016, 6, https://doi.org/10.1038/srep19834


The work has been performed in collaboration with Alla Arakcheeva, Andrea Pisoni, Xavier Mettan, Gábor Náfrádi, Osor S. Barišić, Jaćim Jaćimović, Károly Holczer, László Mihály and Claudio Grimaldi. This work was partially supported by the ERC Advanced Grant (PICOPROP#670918).

Plenary lectures - YUCOMAT 2017

member since 2008